Mount Moriah: How To Dance

March 4th 2016 | Merge Records | Albums

Photo: Lissa Gotwals

The North Carolina-based band Mount Moriah - composed of McEntire (lead vocals, guitar), Jenks Miller (lead guitar, keys), and Casey Toll (bass, keys) - seem insistent to grow. If Mount Moriah’s self-titled debut showed them standing with sea legs, determined to dream their way free from the dark crevices and corners of alt-country’s stiff template; and if Miracle Temple, their second album, called that darkness by its Southern name and met it with fire; then their latest collection of songs, How to Dance, is a devotion to the cosmic light itself: moving towards it, moving into it, becoming it. Mount Moriah’s third full-length sees them stretching further to explore their collective interest in the intangible fringes of fate and synchronicity.

With How to Dance, the band presents new themes of symbolism, mysticism, alchemy, universality, sacred geometry. There is colour, confidence, self-direction, joy. There is also darkness, but only to show you how it found its light.

Mount Moriah will release How to Dance, their third full-length record, on March 4th, 2016. How to
Dance is available for pre-order now on CD and limited-edition "coke bottle" clear LP in the Merge store, or digitally via iTunes where pre-orders will receive an instant download of the first single, 'Cardinal Cross'.

The cardinal grand cross is one of the most difficult astrological alignments to achieve, and the Greek mythological figure Chiron represents wisdom and healing. The song 'Cardinal Cross' illustrates these elements both lyrically and sonically, introducing us to the album with furious energy and clarity of vision. The addition of horns heightens the drama as the guitars swirl and Heather McEntire’s voice seems to summon what she seeks.

Mount Moriah will have new tour dates to announce soon, but in the meantime, watch the lyric video for 'Calvander' from their recently released 7-inch as well as live video from the band’s recent sold-out hometown show.

"McEntire and Miller write great, classic-sounding songs about love, loss, sex, flannel, coffee, and home - things country does well."
- Pitchfork

"Proper, stop you in your tracks talent."
- The Independent

"They come close to pop brilliance...Heather sounds like just the kind of dame Justin Townes Earle would swoon over at the local honky tonk."

"I think you don't see a stage presence like Heather McEntire's more than a few times in your life. She's unbelievable."
- John Darnielle, The Mountain Goats


1. Calvander
2. Precita
3. Baby Blue
4. Chiron (God in the Brier)
5. Cardinal Cross
6. Fox in the City
7. Higher Mind
8. Davis Square
9. How to Dance
10. Little Bear

For more information, visit


Get your voice heard! Post your comments on Mount Moriah: How To Dance below.

About | Contact | Site Map | Admin © Copyright 2017 Contact Media Services