Seafret: Tell Me It's Real

January 29th 2016 | Sweet Jane / Columbia Records | Albums

It’s a rare thing when a band’s name perfectly encapsulates their music. Flip open a dictionary at ‘sea fret’ and you’ll find it’s the term for the mist that rolls inshore from the sea. Then pick any one of the tracks on the new album "Tell Me It's Real" by Bridlington duo Jack Sedman and guitarist Harry Draper and breathe in the delicately plucked acoustics, the gentle haze of rippling electronics, whispering strings and melancholy vocals. 

Leaving aside matters of maritime mists for a moment, Seafret followed last year’s mesmeric Give Me Something E.P with the release of a second EP, ‘Oceans’.  The raw emotional pull of both title tracks may be what took them  to the top of the Hype Machine charts twice.  ‘Oceans’  alone has racked up almost 7 million streams on Spotify and the accompanying video features  Game Of Thrones’ star Maisie Williams and has amassed a whopping 3 million views on VEVO alongside a slew of nominations at this year’s European MVAs.

What started with a pared-back, one guitar and one voice set up round the pubs and streets of Yorkshire has grown into a distinctive sound that experiments with electronic textures, which the band has taken on the road, playing well over 60 shows this summer. Memorable sets include Glastonbury and Latitude festivals, support slots for James Bay and Hozier with no plans to slow down. 

Album Track listing

1. Missing
2. Give Me Something
3. Wildfire
4. Breathe
5. Oceans 
6. Over
7. Tells Me Its Real
8. Be There 
9. Beauty On the Breeze
10. Atlantis
11. Skimming Stones
12. There’s A Light
13. To The Sea

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
14. Out of Nowhere
15. Overtime
16. Oceans (BBC Live Lounge Version)


Get your voice heard! Post your comments on Seafret: Tell Me It's Real below.

About | Contact | Site Map | Admin © Copyright 2017 Contact Media Services