DJDS: Stand Up And Speak

January 29th 2016 | Loma Vista Recordings / Body High | Albums

Sam Griesemer and Jerome Potter – aka DJDS (formerly DJ Dodger Stadium) – have unveiled details for their new LP, Stand Up And Speak, out January 29th in partnership between Loma Vista Recordings and the duo’s own LA-based label/collective Body High.

With ‘Stand Up And Speak,’ DJDS have confirmed themselves as champions and shrewd standard bearers of LA’s revitalized music and art scene. From the impassioned immediacy of lead single “You Don't Have To Be Alone” to the club-ready apocalyptic pleas on its title track, Stand Up And Speak takes cues from classic soul/R&B - love, pain, healing, empowerment – giving those themes a modern, electronic reinvention.

While the duo’s 2014 debut was steeped in the hypnotic loneliness of LA, Stand Up and Speak is a total thematic counterpoint, capturing a distinctly Californian sense of community and pioneer spirit. Hand-picking a truly unique group of musicians to perform on the album, DJDS tirelessly combed Craigslist and put out paper flyers around LA to find musicians that would fit the part of each track. The singer on the title track, for example, works as a doorman at a downtown hotel, and live drums were recorded in the living room of a Filipinotown mansion.

Early response to their new music is nothing short of positive, with praise coming from FACT, Fader, Stereogum, Pigeons & Planes, with SPIN calling them “LA’s foremost underground duo” and veteran LA critic Jeff Weiss adding “DJDS capture that original feeling of trying to find warmth in what was an empty warehouse." 

‘Stand Up And Speak’ Tracklist:
1. One Good Thing (Opening)
2. You Don't Have To Be Alone
3. In The Flames
4. Tell Me Why
5. Something To Believe In
6. No Guarantees
7. Stand Up And Speak
8. Darling Cheryl
9. I Don't Love You
10. Found (Closing)

Get your voice heard! Post your comments on DJDS: Stand Up And Speak below.

About | Contact | Site Map | Admin © Copyright 2017 Contact Media Services